Putting the life back in science fiction


It’s Here! Sorta
November 12, 2015, 2:13 pm
Filed under: book, deep time, futurism, Hot Earth Dreams

1/25 update: Welcome Legalise-Freedom listeners and Archdruid Report readers! You can read the first five chapters and see the cover here.

Here is where Hot Earth Dreams is available:

Createspace as a paperback (https://www.createspace.com/5799140),

Amazon as a paperback (http://www.amazon.com/Hot-Earth-Dreams-climate-happens/dp/1517799392),

Kindle as a mobi  (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017S5NDK8),

Barnes and Noble as a paperback (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hot-earth-dreams-frank-landis-phd/1122947640),

Kobo as an epub (https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/hot-earth-dreams),

Smashwords as an epub, mobi, or lrf (https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/593567).

All the ebook formats should not contain DRM.  Please let me know if they do.

Charlie Stross also allowed me to post a guest-blog at his site .  I’m not going to cross-post too much information, but there is one critical point:

Thank you to all the people who’ve read my posts, and, most especially, to those who have commented on them.  Over the last three years, I’ve tried out ideas from Hot Earth Dreams here, and the feedback I got, both positive and negative, really shaped what went into that book.  I couldn’t have done it without you, so thank you very much for your help, and I hope you enjoy it.

Well, one other thing: my publishing strategy is to self-publish first, to see how well it does.  I’m planning on shopping it around to mainstream non-fiction publishers, but according to what I’ve been told, a big part of a successful non-fiction proposal is the size of my existing audience.  If enough copies sell, it will level up to a publishing house, which will help get it in book stores, libraries, reviewed, and so forth.  This, of course, is where you come in.  If you like this book, review it online, tell your friends, talk about it, spread the word.  That’s the best advertising I can get right now, along with blurbs from Big Names (and if you are one, let me know)

 


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My first visit here and have just read some of earlier posts re: type of lighting [LED] you’d use to grow food in space. Would using Fresnel lens help in your scenario? You don’t say, but from what I recall off Wikipedia, Fresnel lenses seem to be preferred for maximizing output while reducing the total bulk/mass.

Congrats on the book!

SFreader

Comment by SFreader

Fresnel lenses might work. The problem with running sunlight in space through a fresnel lens is that you get all the other radiation that can make it through the lens, and that’s not so good for the plants. If you’re concerned about radiation, you want to bounce the light off at least one mirror before it gets to anything alive.

Comment by Heteromeles

Buying hardcopy books in US dollars is a luxury I can no longer afford, but I must have this. I’m sure you’ll let us know when there’s an iBooks readable version…

Comment by John Scanlon FCD

Yes, I’ve had requests for versions on Kobo, Smashwords, iBooks, and Barnes and Noble (this is on antipope at the moment). Right now, I promise that I’ll get it done “before Christmas,” which hopefully will be considerably sooner.

Comment by Heteromeles

Never mind, got the answers at your GP over at Charlie’s. Thanks!

Comment by John Scanlon FCD

Is the current Smashwords version the latest? Now that I have some time I’m going to try to update my iPad…

Also, where should we send errata to “Ghosts of Deep Time”?

Comment by Robert

Yes, the current Smashwords version is the latest version. Send errata on the Ghosts of Deep Time to the address in the afterward to Hot Earth Dreams.

Comment by Heteromeles

[…] phases of the bleak new reality that Frank Landis has sketched out in his harrowing new book Hot Earth Dreams—the best currently available book on what the world will look like in the wake of severe climate […]

Pingback by Too Little, Too Late | Equities Canada

[…] خود به نامِ «رویاهایِ زمینِ د…»۱۶ به خوبی […]

Pingback by کنفرانسِ پاریس: خیلی کم، خیلی دیر - یوتوپیا: سواد اکولوژیک برای همگان

[…] (update: you can see where to buy it here) […]

Pingback by Hot Earth Dreams Sample | Putting the life back in science fiction




Leave a comment